New Blog, New Header

Other than editing my Instagram pictures, designing the header for the blog was my first time using the software Pixlr. I have never heard of Pixlr and surprisingly, editing the pictures was much easier than setting up the blog on Word Press. I thought choosing two images, one as a background and another as a portion, would be difficult in doing so because I have never used a software to photoshop and edit pictures. Nonetheless, choosing a picture and cropping out a portion to juxtapose on top of the background came easily and naturally than imagined; of course, “The Photo Editing Tutorials” definitely helped me manage to edit the photos. For my background, I chose a fashion runway and cropped out a picture of a single model and juxtaposed it on to the runway. For someone who has never used an editing software, I think it was straightforward and easily formatted; Instagram definitely helped with adjusting the brightness and contrast tools (haha).

However, the dimensions were what were difficult; I struggled with choosing the photos that would fit into my theme’s dimensions. The photos would either be too small or too big, in which I had to choose different photos, several times. Even when I did crop and have the photos to my dimensions, only half of the header displayed, leaving the photos not meshing well and awkward looking. The model I cropped out came out extremely blurry and when I searched for other sizes of models, they all came out blurry.

Ultimately, I think I can apply my newfound skills with Pixlr to my everyday life when I need to edit and photoshop images for events at Rutgers. I am involved in the Diabetes and Circle K clubs, and with my newfound skills with Pixlr, I can volunteer and contribute into making flyers to advertise events, to my taste. Furthermore, it is an addition to my technological and photo shopping skills and to develop and advance these skills in Pixlr, playing around and familiarizing myself with it would be enjoyable.

3 thoughts on “New Blog, New Header

  1. troshsite says:

    The header you’ve created definitely clues the reader into what your blog is going to be about and I think that is very important. It just resonates classiness, which I love. However, the title is a little dark so it is kind of hard to read against the background. Nevertheless, I really like the work that you created and your effort definitely shows.

    Like

  2. koredespeaks says:

    I really like your header because it stills includes real people as opposed to animation. So it works well with the aesthetic. I would just say that you should probably make your title on your header in brighter print so that it can be read clearly. You have managed to create a great header though which I am struggling to do.

    Like

  3. amandasaez1995 says:

    I absolutely love your header! It matches your homepage so well! It really brings out what the blog is about right away without having to figure out what it actually is about. I would just lighten up the text because it’s a little bit difficult to read it being that the header is dark along with the text.

    Like

Leave a comment