Dazed and Confused

confused

WOW! This was my first time creating a WordPress blog and to be honest, it was CONFUSING. Setting up this blog was complex and frustrating because of all the different features. I still don’t really have the hang of organizing and creating this blog to it’s full potential, so please bare with me for now. I had to play around with the theme, font, color, and basically everything to create the blog. I really had trouble in resizing and cropping images, writing tags, and including other classmates blogs and would have to google everything. The most frustrating part of creating this WordPress blog was locating the dashboard. Everywhere I looked and clicked, my dashboard was no where to be found. Luckily, thanks to Youtube videos and random websites, I finally found my dashboard!!

To create this blog, I really wanted to have a minimalistic theme so that people can navigate through my website easily and comfortably. I went with black and white colors and simple fonts. This blog is to show people my own style, fashion tips, and fashion steals so they could get inspiration into finding, changing, or expanding their own styles.

The featured image on my header was found on Youtube actually. Because this is my first fashion blog ever, I really did not know how or where to start. The youtube video included tips and advice on starting a fashion blog and the first scene was exactly what I was looking for. The image on my header really explains itself. I think it was appropriate to be featured on my header, as my first blog is about my experience in setting up this blog.

The image included in my blog was found on the website TrendSetter. I wanted a picture that would relate to my making of this blog. The image captures two models who are dressed inordinately and it related to me when making this blog. I think this picture of the model’ outfits perfectly depicts my confusion and questionings of creating this blog, like how to resize and crop images, how to delete certain widgets, and how to categorize my topics.

Overall, I hope to increase my skills and knowledge in WordPress so that I can create a fashion blog to my taste.

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “Dazed and Confused

  1. koredespeaks says:

    Hey Deborah! I really like the look of your website, you created a great foundation for your audience to look at. It looks very clean and sophisticated which drew me in by being visually appealing. The them you have works well for a Fashion blog. Overall, I like the direction that your blog is going in. I would just suggest for your future posts where you discuss fashion tips that you show more of yourself and model your ideas for your viewers.

    Like

  2. 24hourmusic says:

    Hi Deborah! Going off of Korede’s comment, I completely agree with the appearance of your website, it’s very neat looking and easy to navigate and has a very simple, but classy look. I think one thing that could be done better is adding a bit more information about your blog on the main page, otherwise I really enjoy the overall aesthetic of your website!

    Like

  3. troshsite says:

    I really love the “foundation” you chose for your blog because it is simple and sophisticated, much like the quintessential little black dress. I’m very interested in fashion, as well, so I am excited to see what your blog has in store. From the look of things already, it seems as though you have already put a lot of thought into the direction of the design, so it is safe to assume that you will do the same for its content. Happy blogging!

    Like

  4. lezlieallyn says:

    Hey Deborah! I agree with everyone above – the foundation of your website definitely meets that minimalist style your trying to emulate with this fashion blog! The clean cut theme has a great layout that makes it easy to navigate around your page. The only thing you could possibly change is to update your social media links or take them out if you don’t plan on adding them!

    Like

Leave a comment